fleeing the nest

As of today, I move into my first apartment in two weeks.

This is so scary for so many reasons. My biggest concerns, however, don’t lie with “living on my own” or being homesick. Those things have never really phased me, even when I left for college the first time, I didn’t really struggle with that aspect of it, because fundamentally, I like being on my own. No, the things I’m worried for have to do with my finances.

I knew that when I decided to move into an apartment this year instead of back into a dorm, it would be a lot of pressure on me to pay rent. I also knew that I could easily pay rent if I worked a part-time job. But what I completely forgot to take into consideration is how expensive it would be just to move in. There are a lot of items I didn’t even think of purely because when I lived in a dorm last year, I didn’t need to buy them because they were provided. Things like toilet paper, bathroom cleaner, and trash bags. Those items can really add up, and I want to make sure I have all of that before I buy pretty things.

Getting everything that I need for that initial month or so is turning out to be a little bit of a struggle, and so I’ve had to skimp on some items that I originally thought I could afford — such as this gorgeous duvet cover + sham set from Urban Outfitters. For now, I’ll have to stick to my plain old white comforter, which of course is a small sacrifice, but still a little upsetting.

40132839_012_b
isn’t it just beautiful?!?

It’s way more important to make sure I can comfortably afford the first few months rent, and have food/other living supplies, rather than just a pretty thing that I can ask for for Christmas.

I also haven’t exactly secured a job in Boone yet. I thought about transferring from my current one to one out there, but my current job is miserable, so I would rather try to find something a little less so. I’ve been putting in applications all morning, so hopefully I hear back from some soon! I would love to work in retail because it’s fairly easy and it’s what I’m good at.

The great thing is that I’m learning more and more how to budget and survive on my own, which is such an important thing! Many of my friends at my age haven’t even begun to take these things into consideration, so it makes me feel good that I’ll be able to help them when they finally do. In the meantime, I’m going to make a couple more posts that are college + “first move-in” related. It’s quite a long shot that anyone will actually find them and furthermore, find them helpful, but it can’t hurt to try.

 

xx, Elle Mary

 

Leave a Reply

